2006 Quinta do Portal “Mural”

Apparently Portuguese wines are hot right now. We’ll see. I think they tend to be interesting in that many taste distinctive and are nicely rustic, but it’s not a “go-to” country for me. Our favorite wine shop brought in a few cases of this value wine on closeout, making it a crazy value indeed.

At $6 or so, there’s nothing to lose by giving it a try and I’m really pretty pleased with it. Has some gentle smokiness and cherries and is more interesting than not. Definitely a food-friendly Monday night wine.

If we had not gotten married last year, I’d be all over a wine like this for our wedding. 

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.