2007 Saxon Brown Flora Ranch Syrah

I ordered a three pack of syrahs from this winery from Woot, something I’ve never done before. I like to support my local wine people, or buy from the source when possible, but these bottles looked really legit (glowing press, etc.) and were going at a steep discount, so…

First bottle from the group had all the hallmarks of a big, muscular American syrah.

Lots of dark fruit, dirt and savory notes. Delicious. Too “big” to be drunken everyday, but paired with barbecue this was a killer bottle. Looking forward to the next two. 

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.