2008 Montes Alpha Cabernet Sauvignon

Here’s a “nicer” mass-market Chilean bottle that I found on closeout for ~ 50% off at $10. I thought it was a pretty safe bet at that price.

Wrong. 

Maybe because we drank it after a really nice bottle of stainless steel sangiovese, but to me this tasted like a big wooden plank. Thoroughly unpleasant bitter aftertaste, to boot.

I admit that the wife thought it was actually pretty tasty, and there were no objections from others at the table, so maybe my palate was just jacked. 

I think it’s gross, though. 

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.