2011 Stefano Antonucci Rosso Piceno

santa-barbara-rosso-piceno-marches-italy-10326368Here’s a little-known wine from a small producer that would be a hit with anyone. It’s a bit “international” in style, but I won’t hold it against an $10 wine that packs a ton of ripe raspberry jam into its big ball of dirt.

Tasted blind, I probably would have pegged this as a Spanish Garnacha. A very enjoyable garnache, but still. Shows what I know. This is a blend of montepulciano and sangiovese. After I read that, I could definitely taste the sangiovese. Delicious wine that outperforms its price point.

B+

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in best buy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

