2007 Saxon-Brown Parmalee-Hill Owl Block

ImageI picked up a three pack of Saxon-Brown on a sweet discount from wine.woot, and this is the second of the three. I do like this wine, but it’s very, very big, and in my older age I find myself gravitating toward this concentrated, extracted style less and less.

That said, this is far from not delicious, you just have to make sure you’re ready for a smoky, almost bitter chocolate attack with your wine. There’s some blackberry amidst all the smoke and earth, though, and everyone I poured this for enjoyed it. 

But hell, life is to short to drink $35 bottles that you aren’t wild about. 

B.

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

