2008 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva

ImageThis inexpensive Italian wine has been sitting on my shelf for more than a year, waiting for me to remember why I bought it.

Cracked it last night because I didn’t want to commit to something pricey if I wasn’t going to be able to drink more than a glass or two, and man does it deliver on its $10 price tag in a big way.

From 100% negroamaro grapes, this bottle actually reminded me a lot of some Loire cab francs given its deeply funky, some would say “barnyard” nose. Usually, at this price point, it’s all about big fruit, so I’m always pleased to stumble on to something a bit wild like this.

It’s not all funk, though. There’s plenty of plum and cherry to go with your dirt and manure.

I drank this with a fatty lamb ragu, and the acid funk could not have been better. 

Definitely a re-buy.

B+

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

