2011 Delea Chiar Di Luna White Merlot

Keeping with our “grapes from unusual places” theme after the Spanish Cab Franc, how about this gem: a white merlot from Switzerland.

Delea-Chiar-di-Luna-dav-237x300Maybe you’re more cultured than I, but I’ve never had a white merlot NOR a wine from Switzerland. When I saw this puppy at my local wine store–at closeout pricing, no less–I was sold.

And it’s way more than novelty in the bottle. This would be a dead ringer for a high quality Alsatian Pinot Gris. Relatively thick and rich, with no hint of any oak. Just pure mountain green apple grape-y goodness. This wine also had a really lovely color, with just a hint of salmon.

A truly beautiful and refreshing white wine. If you can find it at half off, like I did, it’s a screaming deal at $11.

B+

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in best buy, switzerland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

