Highland Park 12 Year Old Scotch

highlandIt can’t all be wine talk, can it?

I picked up this bottle recently because my cabinet was sorely lacking in Scotch, and I figured I could not claim to have a well-stocked bar without it. After asking around and doing a bit of research on so-called “best buy” scotches, I went with Highland Park 12 Year Old, which set me back about $50.

Now, a disclaimer: I’m not a scotch drinker. In my hierarchy of liquors, it ranks somewhere below gin, tequila, rum, bourbon…heck, even vodka. That said, I’ve always wanted to like it.

And … this stuff is awesome. I’m not great at describing the tastes and smells, but I’ll say that there’s definitely no small amount of oak and vanilla and smoke, but also sweet pastry dough and a hint of salinity.

More importantly, you don’t have to try to like it. Drank with an oversized ice sphere, it’s warm and incredibly easy to drink, with no discernible burn. It is, as people who know nothing about wine describe wine they like: Smooth.

I don’t know if this is the best scotch for the money or not, but it’s killer, and seems like a fine deal at $50.

A-.

 

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in best buy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

