2011 Tarima Monastrell

tarimaSub-$10 bottles of Spanish red rarely get me that excited anymore. I know, I know, from a solely QPR standpoint, there’s really no better bang for your buck than some $9 bottles from Spain, and I used to flip for them when I first started seriously drinking wine a decade ago.

But your tastes and interests change, and I increasingly found that these dense, super fruity reds left me bored after a glass or so, even if Robert Parker had given it 90 points.

A wine bargain isn’t a bargain if you don’t care to drink it.

So…enter the 2011 Tarima Monastrell, one of a series of single digit bottles from the 2011 vintage that Parker and others have lavished praise on. I try hard not to be a point chaser, but I won’t pretend like I don’t know that WA gave this 91 points. And more importantly, my guy at my favorite wine shop deemed it pretty damn good.

And hell, it’s delicious. To think that this can be found for as little as $7 really is astounding, because there is a lot of wine crammed into this bottle. I actually like it quite a bit. This is monastrell (mourvedre in France and California) brought up entirely in stainless steel, so there’s not fake-y cheap oak clouding your taste buds.

This almost tastes like a petite syrah, so dense and chewy it is. Completely opaque in the glass. There’s also a sort of chalky note that I find immensely appealing.

I wouldn’t buy more than a half case of this for personal consumption, because I do think I’d tire of it, and it’s not going to be great with food. But for $7 to $9 a bottle? It’s an astonishing achievement.

The wine value of the year (so far).

B+.

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in B+, best buy, Spain and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 Tarima Monastrell

  1. Pingback: 2011 Borsao Tinto | realwinetalk

  2. Pingback: 2011 Borsao Tinto | realwinetalk

Leave a Reply

