2009 Dona Paula Estate Malbec-Syrah

donaSouth American malbecs are rarely of interest to me. Too often they’re too oaky, too fruity, too boring.  Adding some syrah to the mix isn’t usually a recipe for success, either.

And this wine isn’t changing my mind.

But, but, but…it was closeout for $7 at my local grocery store, marked down from $17. At $7, you don’t complain for this level of tastiness, because it is tasty. There’s a lot of plum and cherry and to me, quite a bit of milk chocolate. Again, no complaints, but I’m also not a repurchaser, even at $7.

And if you’re buying this at more than $15, you’re crazy.

C+. (Better than average!)

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in south america. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

