2012 Stinson Rose and 2011 White Hall Viognier

stinsonHere are two standout wines from wineries that lie about 2 miles from each other in Albemarle County. I drank them on successive nights, and was really pleased with both.

While the White Hall Viognier is a workhorse that outperforms its $15 price point in almost any vintage, the Stinson Rose was new to me.

The Stinson bottling is 100% mourvedre, which I believe came from the valley around Woodstock. (I can’t quite remember the explanation I got at the winery.)

It pours a coppery light pink and tastes like you’d want a quality rose to taste. Dry. Berries. Some grapefruit. Some minerality. It’s a great wine, and one of the best Virginia roses I know of. Just 220 cases were made, so buy it if you see it.

Not sure what else I can say about the White Hall Viognier. It’s a great tasting  Virginia viognier that can be purchased for a pittance.

These are both also great wineries to visit. Low-key with friendly staff pouring solid wines for about $5. Not a tour bus or bachelorette party in sight.

B+ for both wines.

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

