JAQK Cellars Soldier of Fortune Syrah

Went for a nice long hibernation for a few weeks, drank a lot of wines that I should have said something about. The best was probably a 100% grenache from Maison Bleue in Washington State. Stuff was nuts. Oh, well.

syrahYesterday I had a weird one. A Napa Valley syrah that I bought on deeeeep discount. JAQK Cellars Soldier of Fortune Syrah. The winery lists it at $48. A local discounter was blowing it out at about $14 and I bit due to the discount alone.

It was very good! Very smooth and polished and expensive tasting (ie, new oak). No rough edges at all. Second bottle of the night so I don’t have a detailed recollection. I would have guessed Australia. No complaints at $14 for a change of pace kind of wine.

I’d buy again at that price. Paying twice or nearly three times that would have been made me feel dumb.

B.

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in syrah. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

