2011 Reyneke Syrah

reynekeSmokin’ good syrah for the money here.

I bought this from winelibrary.com, which is fast becoming my go-to wine shop. I feel bad for my local brick and mortar shops, and I do still pop into them, but the big online guys continue to offer some unbeatable value, even when you sometimes have to pay shipping.

Anyway, this is a biodynamic, no new oak syrah from South Africa. It was tight upon popping, but still revealed a lot of meat and blueberry. Very savory. Fruity but not at all sweet. Perfect with grilled grass-fed skirt steak.

Two days later, preserved in a 375 ml bottle in the fridge, we were still going strong, but the savoriness had given way to bigger, rounder fruit. Beautiful bottle for the $15 I paid for it. I would have guessed a $40 cooler climate California bottling if tasted blind.

Absolutely none of the tar-rubber funk that sometimes mars cheaper South African bottles.

Also, because I give almost every bottle an “A-“, let’s try effing points.

91 points! Buy it!

 

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in syrah. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

