Macarico Aglianico del Vulture 2007

370922This is maybe the only aglianico I own. It’s a variety I haven’t had much of, and what I’ve had has been cheap.
This particular bottle is one of those winelibrary.com bottles that they promote at a very steep discount. So I probably paid something like $18 for a bottle that was allegedly released at more than double that.
At sub $20, this is a great deal. This is a big, tannic wine that tastes like cherries and earth. A nice long finish.
Great with almost any kind of heavier food–I had with burgers.
This wine was continuing to open up as the evening went on, and I imagine this 8-year-old bottle could go another decade or so easy.
Really nice wine.
90 points.

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in A-, best buy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

