2010 Eyrie Vineyards Pinot Gris

eyrieI admit that I was jonesing to try this wine primarily because Wine Enthusiast claimed it “set a new standard” for Oregon Pinot Gris (or something along those lines). I believe the word “thrilling” was also used.

Well, as usual, Wine Enthusiast is the worst, and not to be trusted. Oh, this is pretty good juice, with the nice waxiness that seems to characterize the grape in OR. I liked it quite a bit, really. But I wouldn’t call it superior to–or even the equal to–PGs I’ve had from Bethel Heights or Left Coast Cellars, just to name a couple.

So, this is a very pleasing winter white, but certainly won’t make you forget some of your PG favorites. And Wine Enthusiast is terrible.

B.

About davetalkswine

I like to drink and write about wine. I'm an equal opportunity drinker, but gravitate toward France, the Pacific Northwest and up-and-comers like New York and Virginia.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment